DIY Chevron Rug

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Chevron has gained popularity this past year, and I wanted to use it as an accent in my new home.  We were in dire need of an area rug to protect my newly finished floors, so we went on the hunt.

Now, I’m not sure how many of you have shopped for area rugs, but they don’t come cheap.  I have this issue where when I find something I like, it happens to be the most expensive thing in the store.  This happened a few times while shopping for area rugs.

I knew I wanted a chevron rug, but how much did I want to spend? Not much was the answer.

I found a rug at Target for around $70 and bought some cheap house paint for around $15.

Supplies Needed:

Rug– I recommend something that is tightly woven like jute.  I experimented on small bathroom rugs that were ultra low carpet, but the results were not promising.  Whatever material you choose, just make sure the paint won’t bleed.

Paint– I bought a gallon of cheaper paint and so far it is holding up really well.  A gallon isn’t necessary, but I have used the extra paint for other crafts.

Paint Brush/Small roller– The paintbrush is handy for the corners and the roller is nice for even coverage.

Painter’s Tape– I am a huge advocate of frog tape.

Tape Measure (2 preferably)/Triangle Ruler (Isosceles style)– I’m terrible at math.

1. Layout the rug and tape off the edges.

2. Measure the length and width of the rug.  You’ll want to put one tape measure extended in the middle of the rug on both sides.  Like so…

 

The point is to find the middle and begin your lines there.

3. I started the point of one of my peaks at the center and worked my way across.  The first line was difficult but once that was done I stopped measuring and used the triangle as my guide.

4. Continue to create stripes of your desired width and size.  This process is tedious, but the payout is worth it,

5.  Make any final adjustments (I made many), and trim any overlapping edges.

6. Be sure to lay something beneath the rug before you begin to paint.

7. I used the small roller to do the majority of painting and touched areas up with the paintbrush.

8. Allow it to dry completely and remove the tape.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

