DIY “Reclaimed” Wood Head board

I saw reclaimed headboards on Etsy one day and fell in love. I’m more of a modern style girl when it comes to furniture, but something about the wood, its stain and how it contrasted simple bedroom furniture caught my eye.

The headboards on Etsy are beautiful, don’t get me wrong, but I figured I could make my own for a quarter the price.

I started looking up tutorials, and this is where I gathered inspiration: http://www.pbjstories.com/2011/06/diy-wood-headboard-tutorial.html.

Before you head to the store, measure above your bed how long and wide you’d like your headboard.

Supplies:

-1x6x8′ pine wood planks cut down to your appropriate length
[keep the ends they cut off]

-1.5″ wood screws–just enough to screw boards into the wall

-palm sander with 140 grit sandpaper [you can hand sand but it will be time consuming]

-Wood stain [I used Minwax in “espresso”]

-Tools to “distress” the wood [hammer, screwdriver, nails, file, pretty much anything]

-An old rag or t-shirt for staining

**I purchased a couple of saw horse stands for about $20 and they came in handy**

Directions

1. First have a very nice Menards or home improvement store employee cut down your boards for you. [I believe Menards charges $1.00 per cut and my guy cut them all at once to save me money. WHATTAGUY!]

Image

2. Next awkwardly get those boards in your car. [no photo from this, thank god.]

3. Set up the boards on your saw horse tables and sand down the edges and any rough surfaces. I almost rounded the edges to get the used look. You’ll know what I mean when you’re actually doing it.

Image

4. Now you’re ready for the fun part. I hammered holes into the corners of each board, used a wood file to grate along the surfaces, hit the boards with the hammer and screwdriver. Pretty much anything that will make an interesting mark is a go. Use caution of course.

5. After you think you have your boards looking “distressed” to your liking, apply the stain. Paint the stain on with a brush and then use your rag or t-shirt to wipe down any excess. I ended up doing two coats. Just be sure to follow the directions and let each coat dry the appropriate time.

Image

6. A few tutorials said you could put a seal on the wood, but I opted not to. So far it’s holding up just fine.

7. Once the boards are dry, let them sit in your hallway for two weeks so you can awkwardly trip over them for a while. Then when you’re finally ready to stop procrastinating, hang those suckers up.

8. I screwed four boards directly into the wall. I don’t necessarily recommend doing this, especially if you have plaster walls like me. It’s holding up fine, but we can’t move our bed anytime soon. I also had all intention of using my extra ends as fillers along the side of my bed, but for $30 I’m totally satisfied with my “reclaimed” wood head board.

Image

Image

4 thoughts on “DIY “Reclaimed” Wood Head board

Leave a Reply

